When used along with White Label branding, folders are the perfect way to segment and manage customer accounts while also giving those customers a login to manage their own content in a branded dashboard.
To set up a user or customer to access only specific apps:
- Create a “folder”
- Add the target app(s) to the folder
- Invite the user to the folder
The folder user will have a default “role” that will define the folder user's permissions. Permissions may be expanded or restricted from the default settings by changing their role. The default settings will enable the folder user to:
- Make updates to their app(s)
- Make updates to all actions in their app, except for actions that are market as “shared” or “locked”
- Look at their app’s metrics
Thus, if there are actions you do not want your customer to be able to change, then mark them as “locked” in the tag section of the action. If there are actions that will be shared between apps in different folders, mark them as “shared.” Shared actions may not be edited by folder users.
Folder users may not create or delete apps by default. Their role may be changed to allow either.
Note that Folder administration is available only to account owners and that you cannot invite a folder user to two different folders.
More Detailed Directions:
Creating a Folder
From the [Folder] navigation tab, tap [Create New Folder], enter the name of the new folder and tap [Create].
Example Folder View
The folder view will display a list of the folders in the account. Each folder will have a name and a unique tag assigned by the platform and will show the number of apps in the folder and the number of users with a login to that folder.
The two clickable options from the folder view are [Edit] and [Open].
[Edit] a folder to rename it, add apps, invite users or delete it.
[Open] a folder to work in that folder and see only the apps in that folder vs. all the apps in your account.
Sample [Edit] folder page:
Adding (or removing) an App to a Folder
You can add an app to a folder in one of 3 ways:
- Create a new app while working in the folder
- Use the [Edit] folder option and then the [Add App by URL] to move an existing app into the folder
- From the App view, each app has a folder icon that accesses an [Add to Folder] option. The app view also accesses an option to remove the app from the folder.
Note: Folders are account partitions that do not allow account users to affect apps in other accounts. Be aware that when you move an app into a folder, any actions that are shared by other apps will be copied so that they are no longer shared with other apps, unless those actions are first marked with "shared" tags.
Inviting a User to a Folder
From the [Edit] folder page, go to [Add Folder Users] and then [Invite User]. You cannot invite the same user to two different folders.
The following email is an example of the automatic platform email. If you want to compose your own email message, then there is also an option to [Generate Link]. This will be a sign-up link custom to the email address that will expire after a few hours for security reasons. Use this custom invite link in your email.
Example Invite email:
Working in a Folder
The [Open] folder option will place you in the folder where you will see only the Apps in that folder.
When an invited user logs into a folder, they will only see the apps and actions in that folder. They will not see the Folder tab and they will not see the Settings tabs for the Account, Billing, Users, Roles, Domains, or White Label.
The default mode for a folder user is that they can edit the apps in the folder but they cannot add or delete apps. They are also restricted from editing actions that are tagged as “locked" or "shared."
Example Dashboard for a Folder User:
A user’s [Role] is a set of policies that defines what a user is able to do.
A standard Role is assigned to folder users. Advanced users can change the role of a folder user and give them more or fewer permissions.
Below is the default role for a folder user. If for example you want this user to be able to create new apps, then change the 3rd policy from Deny/Create/App to Allow/Create/App.
Tags underpin the function of Folders. A folder is given a tag upon creation and the platform automatically assigns the same tag to apps, actions, and users in that folder. A policy in the user’s Role then gives that user the permission to see all apps and actions that have a tag matching the user’s tag. (The platfrom also automatically removes folder tags when an app is removed from a folder.)
There are two standardized tags (shared and locked). You add these tags to an action by checking the associated box. These two tags have permissions that are set in the standard role for folder users.
Adding a “Locked” tag to an action will prohibit a folder user (with the standard role) from changing that Action. For example, if you want a folder user to be able to edit some of the actions in their app but not all of the actions, then lock the actions you do not want them to edit.
Adding a “Shared” tag to an action will make it visible to and usable by all folders, but folder users will not be able to change this action. Use a shared action for something like a branded action that you add to all your customer apps and do not want changed.
The account owner will be able to enter any folder and "work" inside that folder as if they are the folder user.
Enter a folder from the [Open] button on the folder. When working in a folder, the owner will see a banner across the top of the page that highlight which folder is open.
There is also a drop down on the upper right that indicates which folder is open. The owner uses this drop down to switch to a different folder or to [Exit Folder View.]